Small Talk

“Spend your free time the way you like, not the way you think you’re supposed to. Stay home on New Year’s Eve if that’s what makes you happy. Skip the committee meeting. Cross the street to avoid making aimless chitchat with random acquaintances. Read. Cook. Run. Write a story. Make a deal with yourself that you’ll attend a set number of social events in exchange for not feeling guilty when you beg off.”
Susan Cain, Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking

Do you ever have days where you just don’t want to talk to anyone. Like at all.

I do not aim this post at those people I dislike or drain me. Every now and then, I will have this compelling urge to just turn my phone off. Which will mean to not write back to my boyfriends four texts. I will even lie to people and pretend I was busy or forgot to write back. I just loathe small talk so much.

I want deep conversations, I crave topics that compel me to listen attentively. I understand I sound like a bitch. Believe me I get annoyed at myself in these situations. I legit have a crippling fear from my phone, I find the more people have contacted me in a day the worse it can be.

My friends use me as a crutch for a lot of things, in which I don’t usually mind. Today my internal battery is dead it was utilized to much. Time to switch off …

3 thoughts on “Small Talk

Leave a Reply

